Cancel recognition & freeze election symbol of Congress – BJP to Election Commission

New Delhi, October 28, 2013. A delegation of the Bharatiya Janata Party led by Sh. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, and comprising of Sh. Satya Pal Jain, Sh. Dharmendra Pradhan, Sh. Prakash Javadekar, Smt. Nirmala Sitaraman and Smt. Pinki Anand, submitted a complaint to the Election Commission of India demanding de-recognition of the Congress party as well as freezing their election symbol because of the violation of the Model Code of Conduct in view of the statements given by Sh. Rahul Gandhi in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh on 23rd October 23, 2013.

Satya Pal Jain & other BJP leaders coming out of office of Election Commission after submitting complaint against Rahul Gandhi & Congress for violating Model Code of ConductSh. Satya Pal Jain, National Chairman of the BJP’s Committee on Legal Affairs & Election Commission Issues, while addressing media persons after submitting the complaint, said that the speeches of Sh. Rahul Gandhi about ISI, Muzaffarnagar riots, assassination of Smt. Indira Gandhi & Sh. Rajiv Gandhi and leveling of false allegations against the BJP are in violation of the Model Code of Conduct. He also said that it has become the routine for the Congress leaders to violate the Model Code of Conduct inspite of warnings by the Election Commission of India. He cited the examples of Sh. Salman Khurshid, Sh. Beni Prasad Verma, Sh. Shankarsinh Vaghela and other Congress leaders who have been contemptuously violating the Model Code of Conduct by making false & baseless allegations against the BJP.

Mr. Jain said that in view of the persistent violations and irresponsible statements by the Congress leaders, the Election Commission of India, by exercising powers under Paragraph 16A of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, should cancel the recognition of the Congress party.